Illinois State University Members Present:	Civil Service Council (CSC) Meeting	September 1, 2020
Sean Thornton	Tony Herter	
Judi Khalilallah	Juliana Nelson	
Sarah Bollman	Beth Theobald	
Jena Self	Nancy Kerns	
Members Not Present:		
Tom Cotton	Tony Herter	
Bart Lytel		
Jamie Neville		
Stuart Palmer		

Visitors & Ex-Officio Members Present (box checked):

Colette Homan Narry Kim

Leslie Green

Tony Herter, Council Vice Chairperson of the 2020-2021 academic year, called the meeting to order at 12:05 p.m. via Zoom.

Approval of Minutes:

Minutes from 8/4/2020 and 8/18/2020 will be approved at the next meeting when a quorum is present.

Chair Comments: Tony Herter

Meeting with the President – No update

Vice Chair Comments: Tony Herter – No update

OpenLine: Kim said the printed version of the August OpenLine was sent to subscribers last week. The September OpenLine will be emailed out on Sept. 15, with the printed version going out soon after. For the next OpenLine, Kim said so far she will include the following items: An article about the nomination period starting on Sept. 25 for the A/P & Civil Service Distinguished Service Awards, Team Excellence Awards, and the Strand Diversity Achievement Award; a call for faculty/staff to volunteer as RSO advisors; the latest COVID-19 update; Tip of the Hat; and Years of Service.

Secretary: Beth Theobald – No changes to the minutes were suggested and just awaiting next meeting to submit them into records.

Treasurer: Nelson said she inquired about the Civil Service video from President Dietz, and it was well received. Provided balance of account at the ISU Credit Union: \$5298.51

Human Resources: Colette Homan – No updates from HR

EAC: Rick Marr – Not present.

Annuitants: Kim said she will attend the ISUAA Fall Kickoff meeting taking place tomorrow, Sept. 2, through Zoom. The elections for the ISUAA Board were going to be held at the kick-off meeting tomorrow where a slate of candidates was going to be elected. Kim shared that outgoing ISUAA President Gail Lamb sent an update over the past weekend saying that Jan Neuleib had been nominated for and agreed to be elected as the new ISUAA president, but she had declined the nomination. Lamb said she would continue on as president for now. Kim said she would report back on the kick-off meeting. She will also attend the next ISUAA meeting on September 9 through Zoom and also report back.

Special Committee Reports:

- Academic Senate: Stuart Palmer No update
- **Redbirds Return Working groups:** Juliana Nelson, Sean Thornton Nelson reported on the Updated MyPortal and it has 25,000 users
- Metrics are being developed for physical use and virtual preparing for possibly going all virtual labs.
- Milner is adding labs to the building, there will be a shift in how many students can be in those labs.
- Students are monitored in Milner for masks. It is mandatory to wear masks at all times. The monitors remind students when they have removed their masks to kindly put them back on. It has been seen in a positive light.
- Faculty at this time some using classrooms due to not having the technologies at home and most of the instructors are using teams
- Training for faculty on IT has been ongoing and a video is being created for faculty as a reference.
- Students were surveyed (4,747) "With many classes online, with an emoji (thumbs up/down) describe your technology. 924 Thumbs up, 214 Thumbs down
- IT is now in the process of creating a "Professor's Office Hours" pilot program
- Educate Connect Elevate Illinois State: Sean Thornton No report. Next meeting scheduled for late September/early October.
- Campus Communications Committee: Beth Theobald, Stuart Palmer No update
- University Foundation: Tony Herter No report.
- Parking and Transportation Advisory: Stuart Palmer, Tony Herter No report.
- Discounts: Brooke Hermanowicz, Judi Khalilallah No new updates
- Scholarships: Juliana Nelson, Judi Khalilallah Civil Service Scholarship committee formed: Grace Brown, Kathy Scott, Amanda Dingler, Judi Khalilallah, and Juliana Nelson

Recipients have been contacted and are awaiting their 10th day schedules before they can be awarded.

Winners Carl Johansen: Benjamin Wells ISU Lorelei Starkey Gavin Tellor Evelyn (Evie) Redell Non-ISU Jasmyne Lawrence Tyger Gudeman Jenna Schuline

- Awards (Fall): Tom Cotton, Judi Khalilallah, Narry Kim Since the last council meeting, Danielle Miller-Schuster of Student Affairs informed Kim that Erin Thomas will coordinate the Team Excellence Awards this year. Kim said Thomas wanted to continue with the joint promotion of awards and she agreed on foregoing the printed postcards; having the awards nomination deadline on Nov. 6; ordering the email relays to go out on Sept. 25, Oct. 16 and Oct. 30, along with articles/posts in the OpenLine, the Report, and Facebook; and to have links to all the nomination forms accessible on every ISU employee's My.IllinoisState accounts from Sept. 25 to Nov. 6. Thomas was also able to give Kim the current web address for the Team Excellence Awards website. Kim has ordered all the email relays and submitted a Web Request for My.IllinoisState.
- Raffle (Oct Dec): Jena Self, Juliana Nelson, Beth Theobald –The committee will be meeting on Thursday September 3 to discuss options for continuing the raffle.
- Team Excellence (Fall): Sarah Bollman Kim said she let Thomas know that Sarah Bollman is the Civil Service Council representative
- Non-action items (these items will not be discussed unless there is something to be discussed)
- a. Marketing/Legislative: Jena Self, Sean Thornton, Juliana Nelson
- b. Webmaster: Sarah Bollman
- c. Governing Documents review: Sarah Bollman
- d. Chili Cook-off: Sarah Bollman
- e. Homecoming: Jena Self, Bob Blythe (past council member)
- f. Children's Holiday Party (Fall Dec): Party cancelled for this year
- g. Fall Drive (Nov-Dec): Tom Cotton, Leslie Green, Troy Zeigler (ISU/Toys for Tots liaison)
- h. Spring Drive (March-April): Nancy Kerns, Tom Cotton, Leslie Green
- i. Elections (March May): Emily Vigneri, Sarah Bollman, Narry Kim

Old Business: None.

New business: None.

Announcements: Palmer had informed Kim that Council member Vigneri was leaving ISU for a position off-campus so her last day at the University was August 28 and she wouldn't be finishing

her term on the Civil Service Council. Kim reached out to Aubrey Henson of EMDH as the runnerup in the Group 4 election and asked if she would like to join the council and serve out the rest of Vigneri's term ending in June 2023. Henson agreed and will be joining the council. Kim said she would order Henson a Civil Service Council nametag and add her to the Members webpage once she received Henson's photo. Kim also sent Henson all the Outlook proposals for future council meeting so they would appear on her calendar.

Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 12:52 p.m. with a motion from Nelson and a second from Thornton.

Next Meeting

Tuesday, September 15, 2020 via Zoom.

Reminders: The deadline for submitting materials to the *OpenLine* is the 25th day of each month. – *NOTE: Deadline is subject to change.*

Upcoming CSC Meeting Dates:

2020 Dates –Sept. 15, Oct. 6, Oct. 20, Nov. 3, Nov. 17, Dec. 1, Dec. 15 **2021 Dates** – Jan. 5, Jan. 19, Feb. 2, Feb. 16, Mar. 2, Mar. 16, April 6, April 20, May 4, May 18, June 1, June 15

Upcoming CSC Important Dates: