ISU Civil Service Council Agenda June 25, 2024

Link for meeting via **Zoom**

Members Present

Quanisha Kumi- Darfour Monica Elkin Judi Khalilallah Jessica Barringer Sarah Ryburn Lawrence Lair Beth Porter Matt Wing Tashaunna Divers Justin Lawson Evelyn Whitfield

Ex-Officio Members Present:

Colette Homan

- I. Call to Order: 12:03 PM
- II. Approval of Agenda: Justin Lawson Moved, Monica Elkin Second
- III. Approval of Minutes from: May 28, 2024 8 in favor 1 abstention
- **IV.** Officer Reports:
 - a. Chair (Quanisha Kumi-Darfour)
 - i. Thank you for entrusting me to this role for the last year. I wish the council all the best moving forward.
 - ii. Council reflection
 - 1. General
 - 2. Groups explore dissolution of groups
 - 3. Merger
 - iii. Next meeting July 23, 2024
 - b. Vice-Chair (Lawrence Lair) no report
 - c. Secretary (Sarah Ryburn) no report
 - d. Treasurer (Beth Porter)

i.

Civil Service Council Treasurer's Report Accounts 2023-2024

		Beginning			
Account	Account Name	Balance	Debit	Credit	Balance
GR					
10400_06_18000000	General Revenue Civil Service Council Operating				
0	Costs	\$7,272.00	\$1,093.44	\$(105.51)	\$6,073.05
AG 50701-99-	Agency CSC Non-ISU Scholarship Fund self-				
180000515-240000	funded by CS fundraising	\$6,176.00	\$2,000.00	\$-	\$4,176.00
	Foundation CSC ISU Scholarship Fund funded				
F 180-5030	by ?Unsure	\$2,835.00	\$-	\$(115.00)	\$2,950.00

	Foundation CSC ISU Carl Johanson Scholarship				
F 180-6537	Fund Endowed Scholarship	\$3,177.60	\$1,100.23	\$(1,271.78)	\$3,349.15
	Foundation CSC ISU Civil Service Awards Fund				
F 180 3580	funds provided by ?	\$5,000.00	\$-	\$-	\$5,000.00
	Foundation CSC ISU Civil Service Scholarships				
F 180 3590	Fund funds provided by ?	\$5,000.00	\$2,000.00	\$-	\$3,000.00

V. Reports

- a. Ad Hoc Committees
 - i. Civil Service Awards (Matt Wing) | No report
 - ii. Scholarships June Aug (Beth Porter and Judi Khalilallah) | No Report
 - iii. Toys for Tots (Beth Porter & Colette Homan) | No Report
 - iv. Elections
 - 1. Thank you!
 - 2. Results
 - a. Group 1 election winners Tashaunna Divers & Beth Porter
 - b. Group 3 winner Judi Khalilallah
 - c. There were no candidates for the other groups.
- b. Civil Service Committee Representatives
 - i. Academic Senate (Quanisha Kumi-Darfour) no report
 - ii. AP/CS Staff Council Merger (Beth Porter)
 - 1. We need two three CS council members to sit on this committee. Justin is open to joining.
 - 2. Please view the Staff Council website for all merger committee updates: https://staffcouncil.illinoisstate.edu/.
 - 3. The AP Council has posted an updated article that will be in the July CS Council OpenLine. https://news.illinoisstate.edu/2024/06/ap-cs-council-merger-core-structure-of-a-staff-council/
 - iii. Campus Communications Committee (Quanisha Kumi-Darfour & Justin Lawson)- no report
 - iv. Employee Advisory Committee/EAC (Christa Lawhun)-No Report Our next meeting is July 18 & 19 at SIU Carbondale.
 - v. ISU Annuitants Association Committee (Samantha Lowry) Thank you all for serving the university community, it has been wonderful working with you. No formal report.
 - vi. ISU Police Chief Advisory Council (Judi Khalilallah) | No report
 - vii. Parking and Transportation Advisory Committee (Matt Wing) | No report
 - viii. University Foundation (Evelyn Whitfield) No report
- c. Human Resources (Colette Homan)
 - i. Minor updates were made to several policies (list below). All policies are now live on the ISU policy website. An article will also be published in the upcoming "news and notes."
 - 1. 3.1.25 Transfer of Benefits: https://policy.illinoisstate.edu/employee/general/3-1-25/
 - 2. 3.1.27 Pay Out Procedures: https://policy.illinoisstate.edu/employee/general/3-1-27/
 - 3. 3.2.5 Vacation: https://policy.illinoisstate.edu/employee/faculty-staff/3-2-5/
 - ii. Any employee that was impacted by the upcoming July 1, 2024, new Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) threshold has been notified (along with supervisors) and has been given information they need to know if there was a change made in how they were paid. As published the new July 1, 2024, FLSA threshold is \$43,888/annual or \$3,675.50/month.
- d. Standing Committees
 - i. Discounts (Judi Khalilallah & Lawrence Lair) No report
 - ii. Governing Documents Review (Beth Porter, Matt Wing & Quanisha Kumi-Darfour) No Report
 - iii. OpenLine (Lawrence Lair)
 - 1. Openline has been sent to IT to send at the end of the month.

- 2. Next Openline will notify our constituents of the newly elected council members and executive board.
- iv. Webmaster (Lawrence Lair)
 - 1. Will update the <u>members page</u> to reflect new members and the <u>committees page</u> to reflect new executive board.
 - 2. Working with Sarah to find and publish the minutes for the fiscal year
- VI. Old Business none
- VII. New Business
 - a. Seating of newly elected members
 - b. Executive board nominations
 - i. Chair- Justin Lawson (self-nominated)
 - ii. Vice Chair- Lawrence Lair (nominated by Justin Lawson)
 - iii. Treasurer- Beth Porter (Nominated by Monica Elkin, Justin Lawson)
 - iv. Secretary- Tashaunna Divers (self-nominated)
 - c. Executive board elections
 - i. Congrats to the newly elected executive board for 2024-2025. Wishing them the best as they lead the Council over the next year.
 - 1. Chair- Justin Lawson
 - 2. Vice Chair- Lawrence Lair
 - 3. Treasurer- Beth Porter
 - 4. Secretary- Tashaunna Divers

VIII. Pulse of our Constituents & What's Happening on Campus

- a. Bargaining process is going on for AFSCME 3236. Support our colleagues who are going through this process.
- IX. Adjournment: Justin Lawson moved, Monica Elkin seconded 12:42pm