## PLEASE POST, ROUTE, OR COPY TO CIVIL SERVICE STAFF

## Illinois State University Civil Service Council (CSC) Meeting Unapproved Minutes

July 17, 2012

Present: Barbara Arbogast, Bob Blick, Tom Cotton, Jean Darnall, Jacob DeGeal, Dara Gibson, Maureen Peel, Carol Pfoff, Katherine

Scott, Lois Soeldner, Amanda Smith, Kathleen Webster, Diana Weekes

**Not Present:** Seann Berrocales, Christa Lawhun **Ex-Officio:** Rick Marr, Andee Radliff, Andrea Rediger

Guests: none

The meeting was called to order by chair Lois Soeldner at 12:04 p.m. in the Spotlight Room of the Bone Student Center.

Upon asking for changes or corrections of the minutes of the July 3, 2012 meeting none were voiced. Therefore, the minutes were approved as presented.

A written treasurer's report was distributed by Maureen Peel. A short discussion was held regarding the report and it was approved as presented.

Lois informed the Council that she had been contacted by someone regarding an issue but it has since been resolved.

An email response was sent after the July 3 meeting to the person that expressed concern over a breach of the bylaws.

It was reported that the July *OpenLine* is currently at the printers and should be available on-line later today. Andrea Rediger reminded the Council to submit items for future *OpenLine* early so the distribution can be made on time.

A coupon for Sam's will be included in the next *OpenLine*, copies of the coupon were distributed to Council members and may be shared with coworkers. Members of the ISU community can use the coupon to get a gift card when purchasing or renewing their membership.

The possibility of moving the *OpenLine* to an electronic format will be explored during the current fiscal year.

Thursday and Friday, July 19 and 20 ISU will be hosting the EAC meeting at the Alumni Center. Some issues that will likely be addressed include how retirees that return to work at universities get paid. The pilot program to change the way the rule of three is administered during the hiring process. Attempt by the system office to take over the classification process.

Committee appoints was the next item to be addressed and are as follows:

Picnic – Jean Darnall-Chair; Dara Gibson, Kathleen Webster, Bob Blick, Tom Cotton Diana Nelson would also like to help with this event.

Raffle - Maureen Peel-Chair; Seann Berrocales, Amanda Smith, Diana Weekes, Christa Lawhun

A short discussion was held on the tickets to be used for the raffle. The committee will discuss the issue further and make a final decision.

Homecoming - Kathleen Webster-chair; Bob Blick, Carol Pfoff, Lois Soeldner, Jacob DeGeal, Barb Arbogast

Shopping Trip - Kathleen Webster, Carol Pfoff

Brotherhood Tree - Dara Gibson, Tom Cotton, Bob Blick, Rick Marr

Food Drive - Tom Cotton, Jacob DeGeal, Bob Blick

Cubs Trip - Jean Darnall

Another committee, Special Fund Raiser may be added later.

Academic Senate - Lois Soeldner

Constituent Groups - Christa Lawhun, Lois Soeldner

Distinguished Service Awards - Maureen Peel-chair; Kathy Scott, Barb Arbogast

Elections - Amanda Smith-chair; Maureen Peel, Bob Blick

Legislative – Jan Cook and Rick Marr will continue to give this update

Scholarship Committee - Seann Berrocales, Kathleen Webster, Dara Gibson, Barb Arbogast

Bylaws Review - Carol Pfoff-chair; Barb Arbogast, Maureen Peel

Constitution - no committee assigned until further discussion held

Christmas Holiday – Kathleen Webster and Diana Weekes

Foundation Board – Maureen Peel will continue on this committee

Parking – Jacob DeGeal and Diana Nelson will be asked to continue serving

Sick Leave - Jean Darnall will continue

Team Excellence Award - Seann Berrocales

OpenLine Editor – Andrea Rediger

OpenLine Layout - Narry Kim

OpenLine Proofreaders - Seann Berrocales, Christa Lawhun, Jean Darnall, Jason Taylor, Patty Munster

ListServ - Amanda Smith, Jacob DeGeal

WebMaster - Amanda Smith, Jacob DeGeal

Committee appointments may be revised in the future to add committee members. Any committee that does not currently have a chair will have a chair named at a later date.

Julie Prianos would like to attend a future Council meeting to demonstrate the new my.illinoisstate.edu.

A motion was made by Jean Darnall and seconded by Tom Cotton to adjourn the meeting; the motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Carol Pfoff

Reminders: Deadlines for next OpenLine - July 25, August 29, September 26, October 31, November 28 December 19

**Upcoming CSC Meeting Dates** –August 7, August 21, September 4, September 18, October 2, October 16, November 20, December 4, December 18

## Websites of Interest:

- Civil Service Council: http://www.cscouncil.ilstu.edu
- State Universities Civil Service System: <a href="http://www.succs.state.il.us">http://www.succs.state.il.us</a>
- SUCSS Classification Status Notices: <a href="http://www.sucss.state.il.us.cpm.asp">http://www.sucss.state.il.us.cpm.asp</a>
- ISU Annuitants Association: <a href="http://www.annuitants.ilstu.edu">http://www.annuitants.ilstu.edu</a>
- State Universities Annuitants Association: http://suaa.org
- Human Resources: http://www.hr.ilstu.edu
- A/P Council: <a href="http://www.apcouncil.ilstu.edu">http://www.apcouncil.ilstu.edu</a>

Academic Senate: <a href="http://www.academicsenate.ilstu.edu">http://www.academicsenate.ilstu.edu</a>

 $Next\ Meeting \sim \\$  The next regular Civil Service Council Meeting will be Tuesday, August 7, 2012 in the Spotlight Room at the Bone Student