PLEASE POST, ROUTE, OR COPY TO CIVIL SERVICE STAFF

Illinois State University Civil Service Council (CSC) Meeting

July 15, 2014

Present: Bob Blick, Capri Gonzalez, Jacob DeGeal, Diana Nelson, Maureen Peel, Carol Pfoff, Amanda Smith, Dana Tuttle, Amy Witzig
Not Present: Bob Blythe, Glen Dawson, Dara Gibson, Lois Soeldner, Kathleen Webster
Ex-Officio: none
Guests: Jan Cook

The meeting was called to order by vice-chair Amanda Smith in the Spotlight Room of the Bone Student Center at 12:02 p.m.

The minutes of the July 1, 2014 meeting were approved as presented.

Maureen Peel, presented the treasurer's report for the quarter ending June 30, 2014. After discussion of the funds the report was accepted as presented.

Amanda reported that the tickets for the Cubs game are in and can be picked up by those that purchased them.

Committee assignments were discussed. Additional members were added to several committees, the updated listing is attached.

It was requested that a letter be sent to Parking and Transportation to report the names of the members representing the Civil Service Council.

The deadline date for the OpenLine will be moved to the 25th of each month to allow it to be delivered earlier in the month.

Jan Cook reported that several newspapers had run articles recently on the pension plan. Chicago papers are being especially editorial with two running on July 6.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:49 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Carol Pfoff

Reminders: Deadlines for 2014 *OpenLine* – NOTE:

Deadline subject to change - August 25, September 25, October 25, November 25, no December deadline - January 9, 2015

Upcoming CSC Meeting Dates – 2014 Dates - August 5, August 19, September 2, September 16, October 7, October 21, November 4, November 18, December 2, December 16

Next Meeting ~

The next regular Civil Service Council Meeting will be Tuesday, August 4, 2014 in the <u>Spotlight Room</u> at the Bone Student Center.

Civil Service Council Committee Assignments 2014-2015

Executive Committee (Officers)

Chair – Lois Soeldner Vice Chair – Amanda Smith

Secretary – Carol Pfoff

Treasurer – Glen Dawson

ACTIVITIES:

Committee	Chair	Members
Raffle	Amy Witzig	All Council Members
AugDec.		
Picnic		
Sept.		
Homecoming	Bob Blick	Dara Gibson, Glen Dawson, Maureen Peel, Lois
Oct.		Soeldner
Shopping Trip	Carol Pfoff	Dana Tuttle
Nov.		
Children's Holiday	Maureen Peel	Dara Gibson
Party Dec.		
(Brotherhood Tree)	Bob Blythe	
Toys for Tots		
Nov-Dec		
Food Drive	Jacob DeGeal	Bob Blick
Spring		
Cubs Trip	Carol Pfoff	Jacob DeGeal
May		
Donut Sale	Lois Soeldner	Amanda Smith, Maureen Peel
Fall-Spring?		

Council of Councils – October 2015 - Planning Committee:

Internal Committees

Committee	Chair	Members
Distinguished Service	Bob Blythe	One past awardee and one CS non-council member
Award(s)		Dana Tuttle, Lois Soeldner?, Amy Witzig, Capri
		Gonzalez
Scholarships		Foundation rep and past Carl Johanson winner
		Lois Soeldner, Dara Gibson, Amy Witzig, Capri
		Gonzalez
Elections	Amanda Smith	Jacob DeGeal – tech help
Bylaws/Constitution	Bob Blythe	
Review		
Legislative/Marketing		Jan Cook
		Rick Marr

External Committee

Academic Senate Representative: Chair (Lois Soeldner)

Foundation Board: Bob Blick

Parking & Transportation: Jacob DeGeal, Diana Nelson

Sick Leave Bank Appeals: Bob Blythe

Team Excellence: Chair (Lois Soeldner)

Campus Communication Committee: Chair (Lois Soeldner) and Troy Ziegler

Employee Advisory Committee: Rick Marr

Human Resources Representative: Colette Homan

OpenLine Layout/Design Editor: Amanda Smith, Jacob DeGeal

Proof Readers: x

Listserv Managers: Amanda Smith, Jacob DeGeal

Web Masters: Jacob DeGeal, Amanda Smith