### PLEASE POST, ROUTE, OR COPY TO CIVIL SERVICE STAFF

### **Illinois State University**

### Civil Service Council (CSC) Meeting Approved 07/15/2014

July 1, 2014

Present: Bob Blick, Bob Blythe, Glen Dawson, Jacob DeGeal, Dara Gibson, Maureen Peel, Carol Pfoff, Amanda Smith, Lois Soeldner, Dana Tuttle
Not Present: Capri Gonzalez, Diana Nelson, Kathleen Webster, Amy Witzig
Ex-Officio: Rick Marr
Guests: Jan Cook

The meeting was called to order by chair Lois Soeldner in the Spotlight Room of the Bone Student Center at 12:06 p.m.

New members JR Gordon, Diana Nelson and Dana Tuttle were recognized.

Being the first meeting of the new fiscal year Maureen Peel took over to run the election for the chair position. Upon asking for nominations for the position of chairperson of the Civil Service Council the only person nominated was Lois Soeldner (nomination by Carol Pfoff). The nomination was seconded by Bob Blythe and upon receiving a unanimous vote Lois was seated as Chair.

Lois then took over to run the remainder of the meeting. The next position opened for nomination was the position of Vice-Chairperson. Amanda Smith was nominated by Maureen Peel and Dara Gibson seconded the nomination. She was elected by unanimous vote.

Glen Dawson was nominated by Maureen Peel for the position of Treasurer. Being no other nominations the motion was seconded by Bob Blythe and a unanimous vote was received.

Lois then opened the floor for nominations for the position of Secretary of the Council. Dara Gibson nominated Carol Pfoff. The nomination was seconded by Maureen Peel and the council voted unanimously for Carol to continue serving as secretary.

The minutes of the June 17, 2014 were noted to stand as approve following no recommendation additions or corrections.

Maureen Peel will present the last quarterly report for the Fiscal Year 2014 at the next meeting.

Lois told members that a training series for employees is getting closer to reality. There is a department on campus working on training materials and several areas on campus support the concept.

Jacob DeGeal reported on the new layout of the *OpenLine*. The survey to accept requests for a paper copy is now available but only 10 people have responded so far. The deadline for submission of items for the *OpenLine* may be moved up in the near future. Anyone with ideas for articles in the publication can send that information to cscopenline@ilstu.edu. Rick Marr noted that the EAC will meet again at the end of July in Springfield. It was also noted that the Council of Councils annual meeting will be held at Southern in October.

Jan Cook distributed copies of the legislative platform for SUAA.

A total of 53 tickets to the Cubs/Cards game were sold.

The remainder of the meeting was used to work on committee assignments for the 2014-2015 year. Appointment to committees will be finished up at the July 15 meeting. A copy of the updated committee roster follows.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Carol Pfoff

#### **Reminders: Deadlines for 2014** *OpenLine* – NOTE:

Deadline subject to change - July 31, August 29, September 30, October 31, November 26, no December deadline - January 9, 2015

**Upcoming CSC Meeting Dates – 2014 Dates -** July 15, August 5, August 19, September 2, September 16, October 7, October 21, November 4, November 18, December 2, December 16

#### Next Meeting ~

The next regular Civil Service Council Meeting will be Tuesday, July 15, 2014 in the <u>Spotlight Room</u> at the Bone Student Center.

# **Civil Service Council Committee Assignments 2014-2015**

**Executive Committee (Officers)** 

Chair – Lois Soeldner Vice Chair – Amanda Smith

Secretary – Carol Pfoff

Treasurer – Glen Dawson

## **ACTIVITIES:**

Committee	Chair	Members
Raffle	Amy Witzig?	All Council Members
AugDec.		
Picnic		
Sept.		
Homecoming	Bob Blick	Dara Gibson, Glen Dawson, Maureen Peel, Lois
Oct.		Soeldner
Shopping Trip	Carol Pfoff	Dana Tuttle
Nov.		
Children's Holiday	Maureen Peel	Dara Gibson
Party Dec.		
(Brotherhood Tree)	Bob Blythe	
Toys for Tots		
Nov-Dec		
Food Drive		
Spring		
Cubs Trip		
May		
Donut Sale		
Fall-Spring?		

Council of Councils – October 2015 - Planning Committee:

## **Internal Committees**

Committee	Chair	Members
Distinguished Service	Bob Blythe	One past awardee and one CS non-council member
Award(s)		
Scholarships		Foundation rep and past Carl Johanson winner
•		Lois Soeldner, Dara Gibson
Elections		
Bylaws/Constitution	Bob Blythe	
Review		
Legislative/Marketing		Jan Cook
		Rick Marr

## **External Committee**

Academic Senate Representative: Chair (Lois Soeldner)

Foundation Board: Bob Blick

Parking & Transportation: Jacob DeGeal, Diana Nelson

Sick Leave Bank Appeals: Bob Blythe

Team Excellence: Chair (Lois Soeldner)

Campus Communication Committee: Chair (Lois Soeldner) and Troy Ziegler

Employee Advisory Committee: Rick Marr

Human Resources Representative: Colette Homan

OpenLine Layout/Design Editor: Amanda Smith, Jacob DeGeal

**Proof Readers:** x

Listserv Managers: Amanda Smith, Jacob DeGeal

Web Masters: Jacob DeGeal, Amanda Smith