Illinois State University Civil Service Council (CSC) Meeting May 20, 2014 Approved as amended motion by Dara Gibson, second by Bob Blythe, unanimously approved

Present: Lois Soeldner, Dara Gibson, Bob Blythe, Carol Pfoff, Amanda Smith, Capri Gonzalez,

Jacob DeGeal, and Maureen Peel

Guests: Jan Cook, Colette Homan

Not Present: Bob Blick, Amy Witzig, Glen Dawson, Jean Darnall, Kathleen Webster, and Rick

Marr

The meeting was called to order by chairperson Lois Soeldner.

The minutes from the meeting of May 6 were approved.

There was no treasurer's report.

Lois reported that council representative Kathleen Webster has been in the hospital. A card will be sent to Kathleen on behalf of the council.

Barb Dallinger, Associate Director of the Bone Student Center, was present to discuss the future renovation of the Bone Student Center and the placement of award plaques. Currently, the plaques listing the names of recipients of the Civil Service Council's Distinguished Service Award are located on the wall on the east side of the entrance to the Spotlight Room. Barb stated a meeting was recently held to discuss the placement of award plaques. Plaques representing faculty and AP awards will be handled in the same manner. Barb offered the following options:

- 1. The current plaques would be removed. Winners' names would be posted on the Four Winds electronic board located on the first floor of the Bone Student Center. It would be possible to include pictures and biographical information regarding each winner.
- 2. The plaques could be moved to the Faculty-Staff Commons. Unfortunately, it is unknown if the Faculty-Staff Commons will remain after renovations.
- 3. Modify the size of the plaques to make them smaller and display as many as possible on the west side of the entrance to the Spotlight Room. They would be located under the pictures of the Bone Scholars. There would be a board above the plaques reading "Civil Service Council Distinguished Service Award Winners." The full history of winners would be available on the electronic board.
- 4. Create an electronic board for all faculty and staff awards similar to the "Adams Legacy" board.

5. Put pictures of latest winners on display beneath the Bone Scholars. There would be a board above the plaques reading "Civil Service Council Distinguished Service Award Winners." Past winners could be seen on the Four Winds electronic board.

Chair comments: Lois announced the Academic Senate has a new chair—Susan Kalter. The resolution discussed in this council's meeting on May 6 was presented to the Senate but failed.

Lois and Alex Skorpinski (chair of the AP Council) did not meet with Dr. Dietz in May. The meeting was cancelled.

OpenLine—deadline is last day of this month.

Jacob DeGeal distributed copies of the OpenLine in a new format he and Amanda Smith are proposing. Jacob and Amanda will be taking over duties previously performed by Liz Larson and Narry Kim. They are attempting to make the OpenLine production much more automated so future editors and/or designers don't have to spend so much time creating each issue. Jacob told the council he believes the new format is more professional looking and is better organized. The new format will allow better placement of articles, and he believes the number one priority of the OpenLine should be Civil Service Council news. It appears the current format requires spaces to be filled in with quotes, clip art, etc. Jacob believes a more streamlined format would be better. Capri Gonzalez believes the graphics, quotes, etc. make the OpenLine more appealing to readers, and she thinks individuals will be less likely to read the OpenLine in the new format. Jacob asked the council to consider moving some information currently found in the OpenLine to the website. He mentioned discount offers as one possible bit of information that could be moved. While it is a goal to have an electronic version of the OpenLine, it is recognized it will still be necessary to print some hard copies. Jacob discussed the cost of printing the OpenLine. "Opting in" was mentioned as a possibility to avoid wasted costs. A survey to determine readership was also suggested. The classified ads which appear in the OpenLine are the only funds generated through the publication of the OpenLine, and these funds are not substantial amounts. Jacob asked whether we should consider deleting the classified ad section. The new print design will be launched this summer along with an online survey to gauge readership and preference of delivery of the OpenLine. The e-mail version of the OpenLine will be available this fall.

Human Resources—Colette Homan reminded council representatives that any changes to be made in sick day donations must be completed during the benefit choice period. If an employee has no changes to be made, those donations will remain the same unless the employee does not have accrued time to donate. Colette distributed graphs depicting retirement numbers in recent years.

EAC—no report.

Annuitants—Jan Cook stated that SURS is encouraged by a judge's ruling stopping the state pension overhaul from taking effect. She distributed copies of newspaper articles relating to this subject.

Food Drive—no report.

Elections—

Jacob announced the winners in the recent election:

Group 2 Dana Tuttle (one-year term)

Diana Nelson (three-year term)

Group 3—Amanda Smith (three-year term)

Group 4—Ernest Gordon, Jr. (three-year term)

Group 5—Julie Steinkoenig (three-year term)

Julie Steinkoenig is leaving the university to begin a job off campus so the runner-up in Group 5 will serve a term of three years. Lois Soeldner is that person.

Fifteen percent of eligible voters cast ballots in this year's election. That number is greater than the number of individuals voting last year.

Jacob suggested that candidates be made aware prior to the time of voting they cannot campaign for themselves. This could possibly be done in a letter to candidates.

Jacob also noted the present bylaws state "letters" must be sent to candidates notifying them of election results. He suggested changing the language in the by-laws to allow the sending of emails for this purpose.

Ball game tickets—tickets are still available.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Bob Blythe and seconded by Jacob DeGeal.

Respectfully submitted,

Maureen Peel