Illinois State University Civil Service Council (CSC) Meeting June 19, 2018 Members Present (box checked): Jim Anderson Jean Darnall Hayley Helpingstine **Amy Witzig** Tammie Beck Narry Kim Chris Roberts Tom Cotton **Bob Blythe** Shavla Dennis Dana Tuttle Stuart Palmer Holly Sanford Dean Plumadore Visitors & Ex-Officio Members Present (box checked): Colette Homan Rick Marr Judi Khalilallah Rachel Hatch Jan Cook **Tony Herter**

Bob Blythe, Council Chairperson of the 2017-2018 academic year, called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m., in the Spotlight Room, Bone Student Center.

Approval of Minutes: Postponed

Chair Comments: Bob Blythe reported:

- 1. Thank you to Shayla Dennis and Jean Darnall for their service and dedication to Council this past term.
- 2. The next A/P Networking will be June 29, at Pub II, Normal.
- 3. Meeting with President took place on May 31st. Ron Gifford resented President with letter to Academic Senate, to be discussed later this meeting, by Chris Roberts.
- 3.4. Alumni Relations has been renamed to Alumni Engagement.

Vice Chair Comments: Jean Darnall thanked the Council for a successful term.

1. OpenLine: Narry Kim /Rachel Hatch reminded Council that the June/July issues will be combined. There will be a Q &A of new members of Civil Service Council, an article about Alumni Engagement's new title, Shakespeare Summer Theatre, Tip of the Hat, and Years of Service will be featured.

Secretary: Amy Witzig

No updates

Treasurer:

1. No report this meeting. Blythe will be checking to assure accounts are updated and invoices are paid.

Human Resources - Colette Homan

- Tammy Carlson <u>retired from ISU on May 31st</u>. <u>is officially retired and Janice Bonneville will be serving as a one-year-interim Assistant Vice President</u>. Kelly Walker will also serve as interim Director of <u>Employee bB</u>enefits.
- 2. Currently, HR is testing the new look of iPeople tiles. The new look (iPeople tiles) should roll out this week. Homan provided a handout of what the tiles will look like. An email will go out to campus about the change shortly.

EAC- Rick Marr – not present

Annuitants - Jan Cook - no report

Special Committee Reports:

- A. Academic Senate: Chris Roberts discussed the letter that was presented to President Dietz in an effort to keep the President informed and aware of what A/P Council and CS Council will be presenting to the Academic Senate. Provost Jan Murphy is also being kept in the loop.
- B. Elections: Dean Plumadore shared ideas and created guidelines for the election of leadership roles within the Council. Here's Below is the process:
 - Call for nominees
 - Those serving for the first time on council are recommended to serve a year prior to taking on a leadership role.
 - Scouncil to submit nominationsees to election committee on or before July 11.
 - Election committee will confirm nominees wish to serve by July 13.
 - Nominations will be brought to the July 17 meeting for silent voting.
- C. Campus Communication Committee: Blythe reported that this committee will not meet until prior to the August Board of Trustees meeting.
- D. Sick Leave Bank Appeals: Jim Anderson reported no appeals for this committee.
- E. University Foundation: Shayla Dennis no report
- F. Parking and Transportation Advisory Committee: Jean Darnall no report
- G. Scholarships (July-Aug): Witzig reported that a reminder email would be going out with extended deadline of June 29.
- H. Governing Documents: Dana Tuttle has reviewed and possibly one change/update to discuss in August.

Non-action items (these items will not be discussed unless there is something to be discussed)

A. Awards (fall): Narry Kim

B. Homecoming: Holly Sanford

C. Raffle: Amy Witzig

D. Donut sale:

E. Educating Illinois: Dean Plumadore

F. Fall Drive: Tom Cotton

G. Children's Holiday Party-Holly Sanford

H. Legislative: Dean Plumadore

I. Listserv Manager: Dean Plumadore

J. Marketing: Holly Sanford

K. Discount Listings: Amy Witzig future article OL

L. Spring Drive (March-April)

M. SURSMAC representative: Jean Ann Dargatz

N. Team Excellence: Dana TuttleO. Educating Illinois: Dean Plumadore

P. Webmaster: Dean Plumadore

Old Business: none

New business: Witzig nonereminded members that discounts are on the Council's website.

Announcements: none

incincs.

Adjournment:

The meeting adjourned at 12:40 p.m. with a motion from Jean Darnall and a second from Dean Plumadore.

Next Meeting

Tuesday, July 17, 2018, at noon in Spotlight Room, Bone Student Center.

Reminders: The deadline for submitting materials to the *OpenLine* is the 25th day of each month. – *NOTE:* Deadline is subject to change.

Upcoming CSC Meeting Dates:

2018 Dates –July 17

Upcoming CSC Important Dates:

Scholarship Applications – due June 15- this has been extended until June 29.