PLEASE POST, ROUTE, OR COPY TO CIVIL SERVICE STAFF

Illinois State University

Civil Service Council (CSC) Meeting Approved Minutes

July 7, 2009

Present: Barb Arbogast, Valerie Bridson, Paul Collins, Tom Cotton, Sarita Cox, Jean Darnall, Brian Huonker, Christa Lawhun, Melody Palm, Andee Radliff, Andrea Rediger, Theresa Sanchez, Jan Jolynn Staley, Jason Taylor, Dave Turner

Absent: David Bagnell, Carol Pfoff, Diane Ruch, Kevin Wiand

Guests: Dave Bentlin, Vicki Bryan, Jan Cook, Mary Jo Kocar, Julie North

Council Chair Melody called the meeting to order at 12:04 pm.

-Approved Minutes: June 16th minutes, Jean/Barb, motion carried

-Election of FY10 Officers

Nominations for Chair: Brian Huonker, nominated by Jean Darnall, seconded by Theresa Sanchez; Christa Lawhun, nominated by Sarita Cox, seconded by Valerie Bridson. Christa declined the nomination. Motion to close nominations for Chair and approve Brian Huonker by acclimation moved by Jan Jolynn Staley, and seconded by Valerie Bridson. Approved unanimously.

Nominations for Vice-Chair: Jason Taylor, nominated by Christa Lawhun, seconded by Jan Jolynn Staley. Paul Collins nominated himself, seconded by Tom Cotton; Valerie Bridson nominated herself, seconded by Sarita Cox. Nominations were closed. The first election by ballot resulted in a tie vote. Valerie Bridson was elected on the second ballot.

Nomination for Secretary: Jason Taylor, nominated by Jan Jolynn Staley, seconded by Valerie Bridson. Motion to close nominations, and approve Jason Taylor by acclimation; moved by Tom Cotton, seconded by Theresa Sanchez. Approved unanimously.

Nomination for Treasurer: Sarita Cox, nominated by Theresa Sanchez, seconded by Jan Jolynn Staley. Motion to close nominations, and approve Sarita Cox by acclimation. Approved unanimously.

-Civil Service Council Dependent Scholarships: Motion to approve the Scholarship Selection Committee's recommendation to award one \$500 Dependent Scholarship from CSC Fundraising Funds was made by Theresa Sanchez, and seconded by Christa Lawhun. Unanimously approved. This scholarship is in addition to five Dependent Scholarships awarded to Illinois State University students from the Foundation account.

-Committee Selection/Appointments: The Fall Picnic Committee had the following individuals appointed; Tom Cotton, Valerie Bridson, and Jean Darnall. The Raffle Committee had the following individuals appointed: Paul Collins, Theresa Sanchez, and Jason Taylor.

-Due to the change in timing of spring awards, the CSC has decided to kick off our annual Raffle Fund raiser to coincide with the council annual fall picnic. The Raffle Committee will meet and decide on a date for the drawing.

-Parking & Transportation Updates: Dave Bentlin, Mary Jo Kocar and Julie North

Julie North was introduced to the Council; Julie is the new Director of Parking & Transportation.

The change of S. University Parking garage from having individual Reserved Parking Permits to Reserved Parking Zone permits was discussed. There will be 2 different methods for getting access into the S. University parking garage; one will be using your parking permit, and the other one will be a card given to Reserved Zone Parking Permit holders. It was also noted that at most universities there are usually no individual reserved parking permits for individuals.

Several Council members expressed concerns such as how the card swiping process will work; How/where will all vehicles enter and exit the decks at S. University; Will service vehicles be able to park there and exit without charge?; Will there be an option to have departmental reserved spaces as we do presently?; What does a Reserved Zone permit holder do when there is no available space; When do you expect to sell more reserved zone permits

than there are spaces?; Will there be a loading/unloading area? Mary Jo responded to these comments as they were received; In summation, she said that Parking Services is currently working on a system that will allow reserved zone permit holders to have a hang tag, as well as an additional card for swiping so as to avoid the constant removing and replacing of the hang tag permits (and it is possible that sometime in the future employees may be able to use their Redbird Card for swiping); all vehicles entering and exiting will have to take a ticket, or swipe their card; there will be 2 entrances/exits with multiple lanes at each—one directly across from Dale Street and the other a little further to the North. Service vehicles will take a ticket that will be presented when exiting- there will be no charge for persons/patrons (visitors, etc.) who stay less than 15 minutes in the pay lots; Service vehicles will not be charged regardless of the time they spend there. If an individual does not have a permit specific to the garage, and they use the pay lot area, they will be charged if they are there longer than 15 minutes, regardless if the person is delivering from elsewhere on campus or has a permit in another area on campus (even if they have a faculty/staff surface permit for example). Parking Services is currently reviewing the options for departmental reserved spaces, but more than likely those permits will be zone permits as well and not designated spaces; when a zone permit holder is unable to find an empty space, they should do the same as now-if someone is in their reserved space, call Parking Services. They will be directed to an available space and Parking Services employees will be sent immediately to check for violators and if necessary, unauthorized vehicles will be towed. Presently, Parking Services does not intend to oversell the number of permits for the reserved zone, but will continue to evaluate that option for the future; no thought has been given to a designated loading zone, but that is a suggestion and perhaps Parking can work something out with the ramp area, which will no longer have parking spaces; parallel spaces could be added for limited time for loading/unloading. Mary Jo -Parking Services, appreciates all questions and concerns and will continue to make adjustments as needed.

Motion to adjourn at 1:14 pm by Theresa/Jan Jolynn, motion carried.

-Annuitants Representative—Jan Cook

-Open Line—Deadline is tomorrow

-Human Resources—no news

Reminders: Deadlines for next two Open Lines—July 8, August 5

CSC Meetings—July 21, August 4

- July 21 meeting will be in Faculty Staff Commons Lounge
- August 4 meeting will be in 3rd East Lounge

The next regular Civil Service Council meeting will be held Tuesday, July 21, 2009 at Noon in the Bone Student Center Faculty Commons.

Web Sites of Interest:

- Civil Service Council: http://www.cscouncil.ilstu.edu
- State Universities Civil Service System: http://www.sucss.state.il.us
- SUCSS Classification Status Notices: http://www.sucss.state.il.us/cpm.asp
- Annuitants: http://www.annuitants.ilstu.edu
- Human Resources: http://www.hr.ilstu.edu
- A/P Council: http://www.apcouncil.ilstu.edu
- Academic Senate: http://www.academicsenate.ilstu.edu